Random Thought: On “Toys” and Chores

For my daughter’s birthday she received lots of “toys”, like a changing table for her baby doll complete with safety strap, wipes and diapers; a toy stove and other cooking utensils, boxes that you put things into etc.  She also loves to play with the broom, dustbuster, laundry basket etc.  Her favorite toys all just happen to be things I dread… cooking, cleaning, changing diapers, laundry… basically any kind of household chores.  At what point do toys become chores?  Am I missing the fun here?  Do these activities become chores simply because we must do them?  I stared to think that  if I approached chores with a childlike sense of fun and adventure perhaps they could be fun again.  So began to dance around as I swept the floor and to fold clothes with whimsical abandon.  I literally began to whistle as I worked… then I remembered that I don’t know how to whistle and that my daughter also enjoys eating rocks, ripping up toilet paper, and spinning around until she falls down.  Ok, back to the laundry.  Sigh…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Random Thought: On “Toys” and Chores

  1. Shel says:

    My daughter thought de-boning chicken was fun when I first taught her. Then she realized that we have to do it often and the novelty wore off.

  2. why hasn’t anyone ever given my SON a toy stove or baby change table? Hmmmmm…

  3. Nicole says:

    Haha, if only chores could be fun! My son is in the phase of thinking they’re fun too. I’m happy, but I’m almost bracing myself for when it wears off. -__-

Leave a Reply

