Fear Factor

I know you will be sad to hear it, but this week you will not be receiving your highly anticipated dose of wise witticism in blog form… at least not from me.  Today I am having a minor eye surgery – almost like Cataract surgery (because I am 92 years old) where they implant a lens into my eye –  and I need to rest my eyes for a few days.  In fact, I am really not supposed to be on the computer right now, but lucky for you I have one last insight to impart.

Even though it is a minor surgery, I am terrified.  Way more terrified than I probably should be, and way more terrified than I would have been a few years ago.  Why?  Because if something happens to me… it happens to my daughter too.  And that worries me more than anything. If something went wrong with the surgery (however small the chances) she could grow up without a mom, or with a blind mom, or worst of all… with a hideously ugly mom with a terrible wandering eye.  But we can’t live our lives guided by fear.  And we definitely can’t stop living our lives because we are afraid.  Especially when it comes to our children, because I have a feeling that never goes away.

With that… here’s your quote of the day.

“Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.”

Dale Carnegie

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Fear Factor

  1. Edward Hotspur says:

    You are very wise.

  2. Mekeisha says:

    Sending good vibes your way

  3. Nicole says:

    Well said. I’ve been letting fear take control of too much in my life. Second guessing everything doesn’t help any. With that, I say I will be praying for you (and your daughter). Everything will be just fine. We’ll miss you. Have a speedy and stress free recovery!

    • Thank you so much for the well wishes! The surgery went great and am finally getting back to normal. Of course, all my fears were totally unfounded. I am so glad I did it, even though I was scared. Hopefully I can remember this in the future!

Leave a Reply

