Confession

It has now been a little over a week since my eye surgery, and though everything went perfectly, I am still plagued by headaches, eyeaches, and a vague general tiredness.  I also have to be very careful with my “new” eyes, so it has really limited what I can do.  I have been unable to work, exercise, write, or blog.  I have rarely checked my email, stocked browsed on Facebook, or kicked the usual ass on Words with Friends.  I have also not been allowed to wear make-up, wash my face or really even shower.  Also, because I haven’t been feeling so hot, I have had to turn down various social engagements.  For the past week I have really been able to do little more than take care of my daughter.  And you know what… it’s been fucking awesome.

All of the things that I listed above are things that I actually really enjoy doing.  But having an excuse to NOT do them for an entire week has been such a relief.  I feel more relaxed than I have felt in a really long time. It’s amazing how much time I have when I am not constantly racing off to exercise, work, shower, blog or catch up with friends on Facebook.  I have spent a lot of quality time with my daughter without having to check my phone or email.  I have gotten a lot of errands done that I have been putting off for a while now.  I have logged more than a few hours on my couch watching silly TV.  Yesterday I even… wait for it… sat down and ate lunch.  An entire lunch.  While sitting down.  Can you imagine?! It’s been a while.

This forced “vacation” has been great.  I am totally relaxed, completely at ease, and absolutely bored.  Now, I can’t wait to get to back to the rat race. I need the stress.  I crave the chaos! (Please remind me of this when I am bemoaning the stress and chaos of the future.  Actually, don’t remind me unless you like a good slap in the face. I have a tendency to lash out when I am stressed.)

I have discovered that I like my life as busy, messy and full as possible.   So watch out world… I am rested, determined, inspired, and I can see the shit out of you.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Confession

  1. I am sorry to read about the headaches and for lack of a better word, miserableness, you are experiencing. But a mini-vaca from facebook, blogging, and the general cyber world sounds inviting. I think there should be a national no cell phones, intranet, tech day….can you even image? I have only ever gone 3 days screen free and it was amazing…my blood pressure lowered, stress was practically non-existent, and I realized my kiddos are way awesome when technology isn’t distracting mommy. Looking forward to reading your blog post again…in due time…take it easy.

    • Thank you. My life is getting back to normal, and the surgery was definitely worth it. I am taking this as a lesson to try to separate my time better and with less cross-over…work time, family time and me time. We’ll see how long this lasts…

Leave a Reply

