Random Thought: On Finding Joy in the Little Things

When you are a parent, joy comes at the most unexpected (and often needed moments.)  Like when you’ve had a rough day, and your child runs to greet you when you get home.  Or when you are at your wit’s end with her, and she suddenly just gives you a big hug.  Even an expected smile can fill your heart with more joy than you thought possible.

Or like yesterday:  While waiting forever for someone to help us at Babies R Us (don’t even get me started,) out of nowhere my daughter starts booty dancing and then moshing to some random 80’s song playing in the store.  She was dancing so hard that she fell down numerous times, and then picked herself up and started again.  She didn’t even notice my husband and I laughing our asses off nearby.  Her pure joy in dancing was transferred to us both.  Those 3 minutes made my whole weekend and made up for any other annoyances and exasperation that I felt.

I know that it is cliché (like that’s ever stopped me before) but truly, life with kids is about finding joy in the little things.  It is the little moments that make a big life.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Random Thought: On Finding Joy in the Little Things

  1. I completely agree with you!! I posted about the time that I was leaving my drive way and found where my littlest one had written “I like you mom” in the condensation on my window!! It is all in the little things http://wp.me/p2c54V-6F

  2. You are so right! How did you get to be so wise? It is the little moments that make all those other moments worth it!

Leave a Reply

