Llama time = Good times

In my family we have a tradition.  Well, we have many traditions, one of which is drinking mimosas and calling everyone we know on Christmas morning to sing “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” and then hang up before they can respond.  Drunk Christmas crank calls rule.  So my family does have many awesome traditions but one of the them is attending the Llama Races in the small town of Fairplay, CO where my parents have a cabin.

If you have never heard of a Llama Race (and why would you) it involves a team of 4 humans dressed in ridiculous costumes and 1 llama racing on a 3 mile mountain trek up and down hills, across streams and over rocks.  In short, it is one of the most asinine things I have ever heard of, and one of the funniest things I have ever participated in.

My family and friends take it seriously.  We spend a year thinking up clever names (how many different puns on llama can one think of!) and stupid costumes.  We spend weeks making logos and bedazzling t-shirts.  Then we spend hours embarrassing ourselves in front of the citizens of Fairplay and the all the llamas of the region.  To us, it is not the fastest team who wins, but the best costumed, and we have been champions the past 2 out of 3 years.  (This year we were robbed.) Just take a look at Team Dolly Llama and tell me what team could possibly have  been better.

This year we may not have won, but we managed to have a great time.  The older I get, the more I realize the value of traditions… whatever they are.  I want my daughter to someday look back and tell her friends that every year her family raced llamas, and while this tradition may seem odd, it is her family’s tradition… and, well, her family is more than a little odd.

For more pics check me out on Twitter.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Llama time = Good times

  1. Family traditions are awesome and I must say I love the idea of Mimosas and crank calling on Christmas mornings and the Llama race sounds hilarious! You all made some hot Dolly Llamas, lol! Your daughter is one lucky gal to be born into a family with such rich traditions.

  2. This is all awesome! I must get some traditions today! ha ha… nice post! Your daughter is a lucky girl.

  3. jaymers says:

    This is fantastic. And I’m almost thinking that I need to check out those llama races. Is it as fun as Frozen Dead Guy Days in Nederland, CO?

  4. […] I flew alone with my daughter to visit my parents in Colorado for our yearly tradition of the Llama Races.  It was only a two-hour flight and a one-hour time change, but still my daughter was cranky, […]

Leave a Reply

