Today is My Birthday

Today is my birthday.  The reason that I am telling you this is not to make you feel guilty for not remembering (unless YOU are reading this.  You know who you are.) nor is it to fish for the requisite “Happy Birthday” comments that such a post could inspire.  No, my reason is just the opposite.  Full Disclosure:  I am going to get a little bit cheesy and perhaps a tad cliché for a moment… so if you don’t feel like dealing with that, then stop reading right now.  But it’s my birthday and I will let a slow tear run down my face for a moment if I want to.

Where was I?  Oh, yes.  Slow tear… Today is my birthday, and instead of asking for a lot of things (except from my husband of course) instead I am going to give thanks for this life that I lead every day that is truly a gift.  I have a wonderful husband who accepts my faults and sees more good in me than I do in myself; who is an even better father than he is a husband if that is possible; and who buys me great gifts for my birthday.  I have a fantastic family, who are all my biggest fans and I theirs.  I have amazing friends who inspire me every day to be a better friend and person.  I have a job that I enjoy and that gives me the freedom to spend a lot of time with my daughter.  And a daughter… oh, my daughter.  She is the greatest gift of all. And for all the complaining that I do about how tough motherhood is right here on this very blog (because God knows it’s tough sometimes,) there’s not enough time nor words nor people who would care to read all that I could say about how much my daughter has changed my life in the greatest ways possible.   Every day I look at her and wonder how I could have gotten so lucky as to have her in my life.  Thank you.

So, there you have it.  Maybe it is the prosecco talking, but it is my birthday and I already have everything I could possibly want…. unless you have a pair of Louboutin nude peep toes in size 9 1/2.  What can I say, I’m a sucker for those red soles.

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Today is My Birthday

  1. Scribbler says:

    Lovely post and happy birthday!
    It is wonderful that you are so grateful for what you have, as so many other aren’t. I wish you the best! I am sure many amazing years will come!

    Adieu, scibbler

  2. Well done friend and Happy Birthday! Although, you would have seen that I already wished you a happy birthday on your FB wall. You did read my very long winded birthday wish to you, didn’t you? What? You didn’t? I’ll wait…So glad to hear your day was spent celebrating you and you even got a post in!

  3. jaymers says:

    That’s a great post, and a very loving approach to turning another year older. Yay–happy birthday to you! Sometimes, for fun, I send my mom flowers on my birthday.

Leave a Reply

