Sick of Sickness

On the crazy up-and-down, round-and-round carousal that is parenthood, of course a fun and laughter-filled weekend with friends and family would be followed by illness.  I found out yesterday that my daughter has Hand, Foot and Mouth disease.  Huh?  Although many people, me included, would I argue that I have a perpetual case of Foot-in-Mouth Disease, I had never heard of HFMD until yesterday.  It sounds pretty damn gross, but it actually sounds much worse than it is. It is a viral illness with the primary symptoms being blister-like sores all over the body but concentrated around the hands, feet and mouth… ok that is pretty gross… and a high fever.  And when I say high, I am talking Snoop Dogg hotboxing with Willie Nelson high – my daughter hit 104.5 last night.  The good news is that the fever does come down with medicine, as well as scream-and-cry inducing cool baths; the bad news is that it doesn’t seem like good news at 3 am when her fever has shot back through the roof.

There is nothing worse than when your child is sick.  It is not just how horrible you feel for them, but how totally helpless it makes you feel.   You can have a medicine cabinet stocked full of anything your child might need, you can have your doctor on speed-dial, you can read books, websites, medical-journals, mommy blogs, and doctor advice sites.  You can prepare for the worst, but nothing can prepare you for IT – for that feeling that nothing is really in your hands.  Not even your child’s life.  And nothing can prepare you for how insignificant that makes you feel.

I wonder if it ever goes away –  the worry, the heartache, the pain of watching your children suffer without being able to do anything. I think not.  I guess I hope not… I wonder what it would mean if it did.

Tagged , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Sick of Sickness

  1. Sarky T. says:

    Aw, feel better kiddo! I had that as a kid – I was old enough to remember. It was uncomfortable, but my parents let me eat as many Oreos dipped in milky tea as I wanted (ew, what was I thinking?), so it didn’t seem that bad.

    My mother – in her oh-so-morbid wisdom – once told me that after you have kids your own death is no longer the worst thing you can imagine. Thanks a lot, Mom. How’s that for terrible? But true. Unfortunately, true. I hate it when mother’s are right.

    Wishing you temps in the 90’s!

  2. I’m so sorry! It’s so hard to have sick little ones. 😦

  3. jennnadams says:

    Wishing her well soon! Big hugs to you both!

  4. All 3 of my kiddos had it back in July and we were quarantined for 6 day…the longest days of my life, lol! If you run out of things to do I shared our entire quarantine on my blog. I know exactly what you mean, as a mom it can be extremely difficult to watch your child in pain and know you cannot just make it all go away. Or when your child is being teased or excluded it takes everything to maintain composure when all you want to do is go yell at the other child. Growing pains, not just for kiddos but moms too!

  5. […] Disclosure: After being quarantined inside the house for 4 days due to my daughter having highly contagious HFMD and ridiculous temperatures, I started to go slightly crazy.  Please bear with me during this low […]

  6. […] mostly short yet bitter posts over the past few weeks, I have had a bit going on. My daughter got Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease, which was an agonizing week of high fevers and Contagion-style quarantine. She was recovered for […]

Leave a Reply

