Round and Round

I swear that being a parent is the craziest roller coaster in the world.

My daughter is sick yet again, for the third week out of four weeks. This time with a nasty cold and again with a fever hitting above 104. She was up at midnight night crying inconsolably. Probably because she was tired but couldn’t sleep, scared because she couldn’t breathe, and angry because Mama couldn’t fix it. She was screaming and crying, and I was crying because I couldn’t help her. And I was tired because I haven’t once slept through the night in the past month.  And it was midnight. And I was thinking, “I don’t know if I can do this anymore.”

Then, morning came. And the sun was shining. And my daughter woke up feeling a bit better. And she hugged me tight and said “Lub you” in her little, hoarse, stuffy-nosed voice. And I thought, “I don’t know what I ever did before this.”


photo credit: Hamed Saber via photopin cc

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Round and Round

  1. Scribbler says:

    What a lovely, precious moment after what can only be described as one of the trials of motherhood. I hope she feels better.

    Adieu, scribbler

  2. rebecca2000 says:

    I remember those days. They are a struggle. But man I could never give up a second of it. I am glad you had your precious moments.

    x,
    Becca

    • The Good, The Bad and The Saggy says:

      I guess that’s why they make babies and kids so sweet and adorable. It more than makes up for the tough times!

  3. Poor thing! I suppose I should say, “Poor things!” as I know how impactful sick children can be for everyone!

    You’re doing a great job Mom! Keep up being the awesome Mom that you are!

Leave a Reply

