Random Thought: On Holiday Cards

It’s been a while since I have posted a random thought.  I am not sure if that is because I have become less random or because I have less thoughts. Either way, here’s one that has been plaguing me lately:

What the hell do I do with all these lovely Holiday cards???!!!

First of all, as someone who sent my very first holiday cards this year (only to family, but STILL) I now know first-hand how much work goes into them. Someone took time out of their busy lives to create, order and/or buy the cards, find my address, buy stamps, lick the envelopes (gross!) and get them in the mail in time for me to receive them and (theoretically) hang then for the world to see. They are filled with delightful photos of people I love, painstakingly chosen from thousands of sub-par photos taken throughout the year. Some have personal messages, handwritten with care, but all have been sent with love and wishes for a great holiday season and happy new year.

But, now that the holiday season is done and the happy new year has begun… what the hell do I do with them? Throwing them away makes me feel like an asshole. The thought of tossing your friends’ children’s faces into the recycling bin next to junk mail and way too many wine bottles is sickening. However, keeping all of these cards to add more clutter to my already post-holiday clutter is even more sickening.

What to do, what to do.  I guess, like most things that I don’t want to deal with, like oil changes and my anger issues, I will just leave them for the hubby to contend with.  Don’t ask, don’t tell, right?

I can't bear to throw away cards... unless you send me a picture of your cat dressed up as Santa. Then it goes into the trash upon arrival.

I can’t bear to throw away cards… unless you send me a cutesy picture of your cat dressed up as Santa. Then it goes into the trash upon arrival.

 

photo credit: Viola & Cats =^..^= HAPPY HOLIDAY ! via photopin cc

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Random Thought: On Holiday Cards

  1. Slowly imagine how everyone else is throwing away yours. That will drive away the guilt.

  2. Sarky T. says:

    I save the photo cards all together in a ziploc bag with the year on it (I put birth announcements, birthday invites, anything with a photo on it in there too). I save them away in my quickly growing mountain of archives.

    My plans?

    My mother recently dug out the holiday photos she received over the years, organized them by family, and then sent the collections back to their original senders. Everyone was thrilled to see the photos of their now-grown-up kids, re-read their yearly updates, etc.

    Wait, I suppose this means I’m going to need to collect 30+ years of cards.

    Perhaps I haven’t thought this thru completely…

  3. jaymers says:

    Save a precious few, cut up others to get a 1″ x 1 ” square of your friend’s kiddo, throw the non-photo-cards into the craft pile. Surely, everyone will understand, right? Right now I just love looking at them hanging on my wall–it’s the only bit of holiday decor left around our house.

Leave a Reply

