Never Forget The Small Things

As of late I know that I have made many references to time, or lack thereof.  And as much as I post about it, I actually whine about it about even more (sorry friends, family and random strangers who mistakenly ask me how my day is going!)  In my life there is barely enough time to do all the things I HAVE to do, such as eating, sleeping, changing diapers and teaching my daughter all the dance moves to “Call Me Maybe”.  So, if there is barely enough time for the things I must do, there is rarely enough time for the things I SHOULD do, like shower, exercise, grocery shop, clean, and connect with friends and family every now and then to let them know that I am just really busy, not dead.  If there is rarely enough time for the things I should do, forget the things that I WANT to do like… hmmmm… what did I used to like to do anyway?

It’s no secret that when you are a parent, there is just never enough time.  But it is not simply the lack of time that bothers me, it is also how quickly the time that I do have goes.  My daughter is now 16 months old.  She is walking, running, talking, playing and feeding herself (more food usually ends up on the face/hands/hair/clothes/floor/ceiling/mom’s shirt than in her mouth, but it still counts!) However, it seems like only yesterday she was a snuggly little bundle curled up on my chest, reliant on me for absolutely everything.  And even though it has been less than a year and a half since all this madness started, for the life of me I can’t remember half of it.  It has all become such a blur.  What was her first word?  Was it “Lyla” or “Hi” ? (Yes my daughter’s first word was her own name, if that says anything about her.) When did she start sitting up?  Was it 4 months or 6 months?  When did she begin to crawl?  What was her first food?
When did she start sleeping through the night?  When was her first smile, giggle, and full-out laugh?  It all blends together in some kind of wonderful, exhausting, beautiful life-smoothie.

Some of these things I wrote down in a baby book, but there are many things that I didn’t write down because either I thought that they were not important enough to count as “milestones”  or because I thought they were things that I would never forget.  What I failed to realize is that a child’s life is full of so many major milestones that sometimes the smaller things get lost along the way.  And while the day that Lyla took her first step is very important (that one I do remember… 10 months and one day) there are so many more small but wonderful things she does that I never want to forget.   The Small Things are not the milestones that you find in books or that you brag about to Grandma or that you use to compare notes with your friends.  No, the Small Things can sometimes seem insignificant in a lifetime of achievements, but often it is the Small Things that make a big life.  They are Things that only you know, Things that only you recognize.  They are the Things that can’t be captured in a story or on video or in a photo.  They are the Things that make you tear up with love, smile with pride, and  laugh till you wet yourself (c’mon, you know that if you had a baby come out of your JJ this happens.)

But as important as the Small Things are, they are often the first things forgotten in a busy life full of memories.  So, in recognition of these magical Small Things I am going to write a few of them down here and now so they will be recorded for all of time… or at least as long as the internet is around.  And if you ask me, the Internet is here to stay.

TODAY’S SMALL THINGS:

– The way that Lyla “reads” a book to herself, all in her own language.  Pointing at the things, as I do, and usually saying “shhhh”  and “noooo”  they way I do when I read to her.

– Her favorite word “Missibah”.  I have no idea what it means, but it seems that Lyla does.

– How every color is currently “bu!” (blue)

– The way she sometimes looks up at me, smiles and presses her nose against mine.  It’s our own special kiss and it always brings tears to my eyes.

– How, the second I pull her out from the car, she says “hi” and waves, just in case anyone is around who she might need to say hi to.

– The exact way she smells right at this moment:  baby shampoo, laundry detergent, Vick’s Baby Chest rub (she has a cold), fruit, milk breath and Lyla.

– The way she shrugs her shoulders and scrunches her face up when I ask her where anything is.

I hope I never forget this!

– How tightly she hugs me around my neck and then kisses me directly on the mouth with a wet, slobbery kiss.

– The way she contentedly twirls her hair with her fingers while she is drinking her bottle.

Ok, so these are a few of my Small Things.  Now it’s your turn!  What are the little things that your child or children do that you never want to forget but probably will.  Feel free to record them here for all of the world… or at least all of my followers… to read.  And if you don’t want to share them with me, write them down for yourself every once in a while.

Cheers to the Small Things!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Never Forget The Small Things

  1. Ellyn Wood says:

    The way my daughter writes, not a small thing, but very memorable! She always brings a smile to my face or a tear to my eye!
    Love you Court!

  2. Aw geez mom! Now I am about to cry. I guess mothers and children can both do that to each other. Love you too!

  3. Thank you for writing this! It reminded me of a very similar post I wrote when O was 27 months and Jake was 11 months. I went back and read it and it brought sweet, sweet memories to my mind. Thank you! http://www.dadstreet.com/2010/08/its-the-little-things/

  4. The way # 1 was our whole world for over two years as if he were the world’s most amazing baby. In fact, I spent an entire day filming everything he did and called it A Day in the Life of the World’s Cutest Baby: A Jackumentary.

    The way # 2 used to like to pretend that we found her after her real parents were eaten by a great white shark. I know that sounds dark, but it was adorable and her big brother was going through a shark phase.

    The way # 3 used to wear snow boots, a leotard and fairy wings all day and if you did something that made her happy, she would cup your face in her chubby little hands and say, “You’re a fairy.”

    The way # 4, when he was about 2 1/2 used to like to play a game called New Born Baby Wrestler. He would crawl under my night gown and I would tell the other children I was expecting a new baby and I hoped he would like to wrestle and cuddle. Then he’d jump out, attack his siblings, then snuggle with me.

    As I write this it’s nearly midnight, and I’m waiting for #1 to get home from a date. Time flies!

    • Ahhhh… I love this list. It makes me so happy and a little bit sad. I know in my heart of hearts that my daughter will grow up and most likely date (at some point, hopefully when she is 30) But it is so hard to think that before I know it, she will be having all kinds of life experiences that I am not a part of. That is life, I guess. But a small part of me wishes that I could keep her in the snow boot/leotard/fairy wings age forever! Thanks for responding!

  5. Lisa James says:

    this one brought me chills:) Literally goose bumps, and #1– I miss lyla. She WILL start to forget about me!!!! #2– I miss the baby books that have been in storage for 4 years that I used to fill out…. and now only have school projects and school pictures:) BUT– this post took me on a 30 minute full grin moment down memory lane and made my day:) xoxo

Leave a Reply

